Ronald McDonald House & Extreme Couponing

So as mentioned before,

I’ve begun my journey into the couponing world.

If you follow me on Facebook, you may have seen my status about spending just over $260 (after my savings).

I saved just over $70.  It’s no where near the 98% savings those crazy awesome ladies do on the TLC

show, Extreme Couponing, but, it’s a start for me.  I felt so accomplished when I calculated the grand

savings total!  I did learn a few things during my shopping extravaganza.  The main thing is:

the early bird gets the worm.  I was bummed that there were a few items I could have gotten

for free that were out of stock.  I should have known better than to wait until evening to go shop.

Not only am I trying to perfect this art for myself and so that I can try and stretch our dollar more, but

I’m also doing it to collect free or extremely cheap things such as deodorant, toothpaste etc. to donate

to the Ronald McDonald house in Milwaukee.  Those places run solely on donations

and Torry and I still cannot get over the generosity and warmth we felt

during our 11 day stay there.  It was like living in our

own little hotel room equipped with our own bathroom, bedding, dresser, flat-screen TV, and memory

foam beds.  Yes bedS. We were put up in a room with two twin size beds.  We just smashed them together

to create one big one.

When we first entered the room on our first day,

there was some welcoming information and a black cloth shopping

bag filled with various things on one of the beds; water bottle, toddlers toothbrush & toothpaste,

shampoo & conditioner samples, and a toy basketball as well as a few other items.

When you leave the Ronald house, you have to do your own cleaning and fill out a survey, and

if you can, donate any money that you can for your stay there.  It costs an average of $111/night for a families stay

there. We, unfortunately, couldn’t donate

anything.  I felt horrible not doing so, but our hands were tied, and neither one of us was working.

I want to be able to give back to them somehow and I figured, if I can get items for free, even brands and

items I don’t use myself, that I might as well still get ’em and then donate them.

If any one of you reading would like to participate

and donate as well, please let me know!

Here is the link to their “wish list” of items they go through the most

and need on a nearly everyday basis.

http://www.rmhcmilwaukee.org/html/media/1.7.13.pdf

My collection pile might take awhile but, I’m determined to give back

eventually.  It’s the least I could do for all that they had provided for us

to have a comfortable stay.

On a side note, Today my baby boy would have been 2 months old today.

I cannot believe he’s been gone for over 5 weeks now =(

I miss him so much.

brecken - 023

Leave a Reply

