Reading as a way to heal

I have a lot of time on my hands.

Recently, I’ve been trying to be productive with that time.  Keeping busy

puts off any lurking pain that wants to consume my heart and mind.  During times of production, I

am able to do things for me.  Completing tasks gives me a sense of accomplishment.  Accomplishing even the smallest

of tasks is very rewarding because I’ve been a bum for too many weeks wallowing in my heartache.  I need to feel this

sense of purpose and need.  I no longer have an infant that depends on me for care so I need to turn my attention

to other things.

I’m an avid reader, so it’s only natural

that I’ve turned to books for some help for my mind and spirit.  I feel that maybe if

I read about life lesson type of books, grief books or even books for fun, that it will help me be able to cope.

I figured this was a good place to start with taking care of me.  I’ve acquired a handful to dive into.  Some were

given to me, some I bought and one was a book I have already read.  There’s a couple of Mitch Albom

books.  I love his writing and can start and finish one of his books in just one day.  I’m not a big spiritual person,

but I like the lessons you can take away from his books.  “Five People You Meet In Heaven” was the very first

book of his that I read back in the summer of 2007 while on a family vacation in Traverse City, Mi.  I decided for

the start of my readings that I would  re-read that one.  Then I’ve read “Working it Out” By Abby Rike.  She

suffered an even grater loss then me when her husband, five year old daughter and two week old son all died in a car

accident.

The things she points out about her two week old son and how she felt about his passing compared to her five year old

daughter related to how I feel about Brecken’s passing.  Then I read

Mitch Albom’s newest book: “The Time Keeper”  It kind of wakes you up about the concept of time and

how we are so consumed with it and how it interferes with everything we do.  It’s something we cannot

control and we spend so much time worrying and thinking about it.  Wishing it would slow down or speed up.

Now, I’m reading: “Understanding Your Grief” by Alan D. Wolfelt.  It has an

accompanying journal to go along with it.  I’m also reading here and there pages from

“A Daybook of Positive Thinking”  A Blue Mountain Arts Collection.  Of course, I naturally have a book for

indulgence purposes to help me get back into a sense of “normal” that I used to have.  “Blood Sisters” by Sarah

Gristwood.  This, of course, is a book during the Turdor Era-which is a time period I just cannot ever

stop reading about.

I’m still in the hunt for books on grief so if any of you who are reading this

has suggestions then please comment!

Books

2 thoughts on “Reading as a way to heal

Leave a Reply

